GF GIRL NEXT DOOR: Gluten Free Pumpkin Donuts with Maple Glaze

Pumpkin season is back friends, and it’s all about mixing the right blend of brown rice flour, almond flour, coconut palm sugar and pumpkin pure to create the most delectable gluten free donut you’ll ever eat. (I spoke too soon, my apple donuts are awesome too – get that recipe here!) People go crazy for pumpkin spice season – myself included. I love Fall so why not pump those Fall inspired flavors into a little round baked donut.

I dare you to make these for your friends and family. No one will even realize they are gluten free. I made them for my colleagues at work, and they couldn’t believe it. You don’t need dozens of ingredients to make something delicious. Keep it simple and make it taste good.

Gluten Free Pumpkin Donuts with Maple Glaze

  • 3 tablespoons of butter room temperature
  • 1/2 cup coconut palm sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup pumpkin
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 cup brown rice flour (Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 1.5 cups almond flour (Bob’s Red Mill)

Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees.

Cream together your wet ingredients: butter, pumpkin and coconut palm sugar. Then add in your eggs. In a separate bowl use either a whisk together the baking soda, brown rice flour and almond flour. Add your dry ingredients to the wet and mix together for 1 minute.

Bake for 15-16 minutes. Take out and let cool.

THE BEST PART  – The Maple Glaze

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 1 cup confectionary sugar

DeliaMooney-3355

DeliaMooney-3358

Heat up a sauté pan on medium heat. Melt butter into the maple syrup, and whisk often.

DeliaMooney-3362

When your butter is all melted, remove from heat and add in your confectionary sugar. Whisk quickly until confectionary sugar dissolves.

DeliaMooney-3368

DeliaMooney-3371

When the glaze is cool enough to dip the donuts in, get dipping!

DeliaMooney-3394

DeliaMooney-3395

DeliaMooney-3402

After each dip, place the donuts on a cooling rack to dry.

DeliaMooney-3405

DeliaMooney-3414

All of these mouth watering photos were taken by my very talented friend Sarah Landry of Sarah Jayne Photography. I wouldn’t look half as good – and the donuts too – if it wasn’t for her! 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: DELIA MOONEYDeliaMooney-3630

I am the Editor and Founder of the lifestyle and food blog “Hey, What’s the Dealio?” My blog is all about my love of food, working out, living a healthy life, spending time with family and friends, and getting the most out of every day. It’s about celebrating old family traditions and creating new ones that I can pass on. It’s about mixing the simple with the complicated and the savory with the sweet. In Fall 2013, I was diagnosed with celiac disease, so my blog includes a variety of gluten free and paleo recipes. I’m here to prove that gluten free and healthy recipes don’t have to be taste free. This blog is about me trying and creating recipes I love for the people I love. I associate family and friends with food and I associate food with happiness.

Website | Linkedin | Twitter

Read more about and from the author: Delia’s WiLab Profile

